The statement that “Kosher certificates indicate that the related products are not forbidden and Halal products for Jewish people according to Judaism.” is completely wrong. The concept of “Halal” is not the adjective of any object or action. As a result of this, there is no such thing called as Halal of Jews, Halal of Christians or Halal of Buddhists. The concept of Halal is indeed a divine terminology and belong to Allah (SWT).
In the past, Muslims have consumed Kosher certificated products by considering as they would be Halal, especially those living in Europe and the USA and some still continue to do so.
We have been trying to explain that Kosher is not the synonym of Halal and cannot be a reliable source for Muslims to consume Halal products.
“So eat of that [meat] upon which the name of Allah has been mentioned, if you are believers in His verses. And why should you not eat of that upon which the name of Allah has been mentioned while He has explained in detail to you what He has forbidden you, excepting that to which you are compelled. And indeed do many lead [others] astray through their [own] inclinations without knowledge. Indeed, your Lord – He is most knowing of the transgressors…And do not eat of that upon which the name of Allah has not been mentioned, for indeed, it is grave disobedience. And indeed do the devils inspire their allies [among men] to dispute with you. And if you were to obey them, indeed, you would be associators [of others with Him].” (Al-An’am, 118-119-121)
So what is Halal?
Halal is an Arabic word meaning allowed by Allah (SWT) and legitimate/rightful.
Whatever we do, such as consuming food, engaging in trade or shopping, should be from the things that are allowed by Allah (SWT).
The concept of Halal, which is mentioned fifty times in the Holy Qur’an, is not left to individuals or societies and is defined by Allah (SWT) and His Messenger (SAW). Therefore, we cannot use the word Halal, which is approved directly by Allah (SWT), for the Kosher of Jews.