General News


Dr. Hüseyin Kami BÜYÜKÖZER

Today, ice cream has become a food item that we all love, from young to old, and that we have doubts about. We should never buy from places we are not sure about. Today, thankfully, some of our zealous producer companies produce ice cream under Halal and Tayyib conditions, and our Halal Dunya Markets deliver them to their consumers in their markets.
It may be a license to act according to the declaration of the Muslim seller or manufacturer.
However, we should consider that today, some of our people whose identity cards are written as Islam are actually living in a time when their religion is MONEY, besides that Allah has assigned the duty of researching and conveying the “O believers! Eat from the good things We have provided for you. And give thanks to Allah if you ˹truly˺ worship Him ˹alone˺.” (Surah Al Baqarah, Ayat 172) command to all believers.


Critical Control Points in Ice Cream and Fruit Ice

Natural colorants, Ascorbic Acid, Citric Acid, Aroma, Xanthan Gum or other gums, Mono and diglycerides, Lecithin, Cone, Vegetable fats, Milk

They must be produced under Halal conditions and must have a Halal certificate from a reliable institution.
Since the additives used in these products can put the consumer at risk in terms of both halalness and health, GIMDES does not allow the use of substances that do not have a reliable Halal certificate and confirms that they are not used by having analyses done. Those who prefer to consume the products of the producers who produce under the control of GIMDES can access the company information by clicking. Those who cannot get a certificate from GIMDES in the market or cannot afford to get a certificate can deceive our brothers for their unjust gains with the documents they get from places that do not comply with the bail law. Please research and question, remember that your material and spiritual life is your responsibility.

First of all, I congratulate and thank you for your Islamic sensitivity. May Allah be pleased with you.

If you want to see all our GIMDES Halal and Tayyib Certified Companies, CLICK HERE.

If you want to buy all GIMDES Halal and Tayyib Certified Products, CLICK HERE FOR OUR HDM MARKET BRANCHES

If you want to buy GIMDES Halal and Tayyib Certified Products from our ONLINE HALAL DUNYA MARKET, CLICK HERE

• Milk fat (cream) at least 10%-16%
• Skim milk solid mass (contains casein in milk, whey proteins and lactose as carbohydrate) 9%-12%
• Sweeteners (usually a mixture of sugar and glucose) 14%-19%
• Stabilizers and emulsifiers 0.2%-0.6%
• Water 55%-64%
• Various flavours and dyestuffs

STABILIZERS used in fabricated production today:

1. Locust Bean Gum (Locust Bean Gum or Carob Bean Gum) E410: Soluble fibres of plant material extracted from the seed bed of the locust bean tree, which mostly grows in African and Mediterranean climate conditions.
2. Guar gum E412: It is extracted from the fattening tissues of the seeds of the Guar bush plant from the legume family. It grows in India and Pakistan.
3. Xanthan gum E415: It is a polysaccharide. It is produced in broth culture medium as a result of fermentation of glucose or sucrose with Xanthomonas campestris bacteria.
4. Sodium alginate E401: Extracted from brown seaweed.
5. Carrageenan E407: Extracted from red or purple seaweed. Thickening enhancer. Due to the formation of ethylene chlorohydrin, it carries a high risk of carcinogens, ulcers, and poisoning.
6. Agar agar E406: Extracted from red seaweed.
7. Gelatine E441: It is a protein of animal origin. If gelatine extracted from the skin and bones of animals whose meat is not halal or slaughtered is not halal, ice cream will also become haram.


They are additives used to ensure the homogeneous mixture of the ingredients brought together for ice cream, smooth softening, melting and easy eating.

The original emulsifier of ice cream is egg yolk. However, it is not used today. Instead, two different additives are used.
Mono- and di-glycerides E471: obtained from the partial hydrolysis of fats or oils of animal or plant origin. When the origin is animal or the origin is not specified, Muslims should be careful in consuming it.

Polysorbate 80 E433: It is a sorbitan ester consisting of a glucose alcohol (sorbitol) bond to a fatty acid. Thickening enhancer. It is obtained from vegetable and animal fatty acids. It is used as a synthetic sweetener, antifoaming agent, and dough conditioner. When the origin is animal or the origin is not specified, Muslims should be careful in consuming it. Vanilla, ethyl vanillin are not haram due to their natural structure. However, some manufacturers market it by preserving it in alcohol. Such processes are haram. However, unfortunately, food manufacturers indicate this detail on their labels.


It would be wrong to say that every flavour is haram. It is useful to read the articles on our site a little more carefully on this subject.
They can be of animal origin, as well as alcohol contamination through artificial aroma essences.

Ice cream cones produced from a mixture of substances such as flour, eggs, sugar, milk, oil, baking powder, vanilla, cocoa should be considered depending on the reliability of these materials.